top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNqobile

The Summer I Turned Pretty - Spoiler Free Trilogy Review

Updated: Nov 15, 2020

Hello!

Firstly, I trust that you are well amidst the uncertainty and craziness. If not, let’s chat!

Contact me:)

Secondly, I apologise for not posting last week. Exam week has been crazy! I’ll make it up to you guys by posting twice this week.


And finally, enjoy this short review of The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy. Let’s get into it!








I suggest you refer to Common Sense Media for the best age rating.


Isabel, or more commonly known as Belly, measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer—they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.



I remember not being able to find anything on the, what at the time seemed like, outdated school library shelves, I was lucky enough to spot this book.


(Well actually not this because they didn’t have it and I unknowingly read the second then third book in the trilogy.)


A great book to read in the summer because of the excellent descriptions Jenny Han must be applauded on. She creates an amazing image.


What else? It’s light, fluffy, easy to read and progressively gets better in the trilogy.



Although this book might have included some famous clichés and at times became a cheesy love triangle, I loved it.


I loved it because this was the trilogy that encouraged me to read after I had finished all the books I was interested in, in the library.


This book is so firmly rooted to the beginning stages of my reading obsession, I can’t help but appreciate and love the nostalgia that comes with it. Also, it leaves you with a warm and comforting feeling making you keen and ready for summer.

Belly is kinda whiny in the first book but if you read the entire trilogy, you’ll see the character development. Which I am here for! Also, maybe that book 1 was kind of slow paced but it makes sense.


It lets you in on Belly’s early life and how far she, the beach house, and the families go back.


You’re looking for:

An extremely easy book to read.

✓ A book hard to put down


✓ A book to get you out of a reading slump


✓ A summery read that makes you feel warm inside


✓ An age appropriate book







Jenny Han

is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series. Her books have been published in more than thirty languages. A former librarian, Jenny earned her MFA in creative writing at the New School. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

An actual queen. Beautiful and intelligent.







I hope you guys enjoyed this review. Let me know what books you’d like me to review in the future. Thank you for checking out my blog, hopefully this won’t be the last time you do so.

Talk to you later... bye! 💖


Nqobile

Xxx

156 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page