top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNqobile

My Small Book Haul 2!




It’s that time again.


Where I spend my money on books! But like... what’s new?


I’m sorry I’ve been inactive for the longest time now. I needed a break after the end of the school year but I’m back now lol.


Anyways...


Today is the 29th of December which means that there are 3 more days of 2020 left and I need to read 2 more books so that I can complete my Goodreads 2020 Reading Challenge. *Panicking*


So I bought two books and here there are:


1. Holding Up the Universe - Jennifer Niven


Store: Bargain Books 

Price: R100

Age Rating: 13/14+

Trigger Warnings: Fat-shaming, Prosopagnosia





Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout.


What they THINK they know:


• Girl once dubbed "America's Fattest Teen."

• Has an irresponsible dad because he let her become this big.


What they DON’T know:


• Her weight was the result of her way of grieving, eating, following her mom’s death.



No one takes the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is.

Now, Libby's ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 



Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too.


What they THINK they know:


• Boy with swagger

• He’s the master of the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in.


What they DON’T know:


• He can't recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him.


He's the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can't understand what's going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don't get too close to anyone.


Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both annoyed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.



 

The next book...


And because I need to mix up my genres, a classic:


2. To Kill A Mockingbird - Harper Lee


Store: Bargain Books

Price: R165

Age Rating: 13/14+

Trigger Warnings: Nothing really...





Set in the small Southern town of Maycomb, Alabama, during the Depression, To Kill a Mockingbird follows three years in the life of 8-year-old Scout Finch, her brother, Jem, and their father, Atticus--three years punctuated by the arrest and eventual trial of a young black man accused of raping a white woman.

Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.


 

That concludes my post, I hope you enjoyed it. I have a few more posts set to be published before 2021, so stay tuned for those. But until then... bye!


Nqobile

Xxx

#Pinterest: Books 'n Beyond Blog

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page