top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNqobile

One of Us is Next - Spoiler Free Review

Updated: Nov 17, 2020

As promised, here is my spoiler free review to Karen M. McManus’ highly anticipated sequel to One of Us Is Lying, published this year, One of Us Is Next.





I suggest you refer to Common Sense Media for the best age rating.


There's a new mystery to solve at Bayview High, and a whole new set of rules.


Ever since the death of Simon in the previous book, many gossip apps have been created, but failed, unable to fill the gossip void quite like he could. This is because, no one has the facts.


Up until now.


This time it's not an app, though—it's a game.


Truth or Dare.


Phoebe is targeted first. If you choose not to play, it's a truth. And hers is dark.


Maeve is targeted second and she should know better—always choose the dare.


When it’s Knox turn, things have gotten dangerous. The dares have become deadly, and if Maeve learned anything from Bronwyn, her sister, last year, it's that they can't count on the police for help. Or protection. So it’s up to them.


Simon's gone, but someone's determined to keep his legacy at Bayview High alive.





What. Just. Happened.


I finished this book at 7am and, honestly, I’m still shocked. I don’t why, but I expected this sequel to not quite reach the calibre of the previous book. And as for Karen M. McManus, I don’t know understand why, why I expected any less from her.



One of Us Is Next shifts the focus, in terms of perspectives. Which I thoroughly enjoyed. There is also a different storyline, that include new ideas where new characters are introduced yet still managing to link back to the previous book. 

Once I started, I couldn’t stop! (Excluding the 3 week period I used to study for exams👀🤭)


I remember I being set on giving this read 3 stars because I felt as if the story was being dragged for reallll! But I’m so glad I gave it a chance and continued.




And while this book did a great job at getting you immediately hooked, I feel it’s necessary as a reviewer to let you know that it did include parts not be suitable for readers under 13 years of age. It contains some sensitive subjects and strong language. Still a good book though, great for mature readers ready for a thrilling mystery with lots of plot twists and jaw-dropping moments.




You’re looking for:


A book hard to put down.


✓ A book where the author is educated on slang used by the group of people she’s writing about. In this case, teens.


✓ A book to keep you on your toes.


✓ A slightly mature book (14+ / mature 13 yr olds)




Karen M. McManus


is the #1 New York Times, USA Today, and international bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying, Two Can Keep a Secret, and One of Us Is Next. Her fourth novel, The Cousins, will publish in December 2020. Her work has been translated into more than 40 languages worldwide. Karen lives in Massachusetts and holds a master's degree in Journalism from Northeastern University, which she mostly uses to draft fake news stories for her novels.


I wonder if she’s thinking of making this a trilogy or not...


Thank you beautiful people for stopping by. Make sure to read more of the reviews I’ve done in the past if you enjoyed this one.


I’ll talk to you all soon... bye! 💕


Nqobile

Xxx









33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page