top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNqobile

The Books I Am Currently Reading

Updated: Oct 24, 2020

Hello Everyone,


I’m so happy you decided to check out this blog post. So in this one, I will be sharing the books I am currently reading and my thoughts on them. If I have strong opinions, good or bad, I might proceed to write a review.


Yes, you read that correctly. 


I’m reading two books at once. Which is a first, in a really long time. Now that I’ve mentioned it, the timing is kinda weird because I’m studying for exams...


However that’s not the point… let’s get started!



One of Us is Next - Karen M. McManus


  • Age Rating: 13/14+

  • Trigger Warnings: None that I know of

  • Copy: Paperback 

  • Published: Jan 9, 2020 (You’ll see why this matters later on lol)



BRIEF SYNOPSIS:


Set roughly one year after the events of the first book, One of Us Is Next shifts the focus to Bronwyn's younger sister Maeve as someone is determined to continue gossip app creator Simon's legacy with a dangerous new game of Truth or Dare.


THOUGHTS:

 (No spoilers, don’t worry lol)


So as some of you may know, I bought this book last week. And so far, I am enjoying it. I love the shift in perspectives and the different storyline. There are both some new and fresh ideas that still link with the previous book. 


Oh, and as for my reading progress I’m about to hit the 100 page mark!


One of my favourite reader moments whilst reading this book was when the author used slang (sort of) that’s not outdated (thankfully). I literally had to check the publication date to see when it was published because I did not believe it.


 

The Selection - Kiera Class


  • Age Rating: 12/13+

  • Trigger Warnings: None I’m aware of

  • Copy: Ebook



BRIEF SYNOPSIS


A group of impoverished girls compete for a chance to live amongst the wealthy, where a rebellion is brewing. For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering crowns and priceless jewels.



THOUGHTS

(Again, I promise, no spoilers.)


Wait… I don’t hate it. I went into this book thinking it would be extremely bad because of a few negative reviews I read. Moral of the story: don’t trust angry Goodreads reviewers. They will lead you astray. Anyway… considering that this is my first time in a while reading more than one book and an ebook while studying for exams, I am still on chapter 4. Those are not excuses. Totally...


I guess I like it so far. I like how the characters are introduced and you already have a good idea of who they are in just a few chapters. I will make sure to keep you guys updated. 


 

CONCLUSION:


Should I do more of these? I hope you enjoyed this.


Also if you can guess the book in photo I took (see pin), you can get a cookie 🍪


Have a great day!


Don't forget to request, contact me, like, comment and share.

Make sure to subscribe to be notified when I release a new blog post! I try my best to post at least once week. If you want to keep up and stay updated, you can visit my Pinterest account: Books 'n Beyond Blog.

Thank you all so much for tuning in... Talk to you later! 💕🌸

PS: Thank you all for the continuous support I appreciate it so much!

Nqobile

Xxx


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page