top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNqobile

7 Effective Ways to Read More!

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

Reading can be a very difficult thing to do at times. It’s either you don’t have the time or you don’t know what to read exactly or even not having the concentration to read. I understand!


The last couple of weeks have been super busy which made me think and realise, this is how most people live. With a jam-packed schedule, it feels as if there’s close to no time left to read.

In this post I have compiled some tips that’ll, hopefully, get you to read more and love doing it!




1. FIND A GOOD BOOK FOR YOU


My first tip would be to pick a book that you will enjoy. I also recommend starting off by choosing shorter books. This way you can finish books quicker which will drive you to read more and more, you’ll also feel accomplished!

2. BRING A BOOK WITH YOU EVERYWHERE


You’re sitting and waiting in line, use that time to read instead of staying on your phone. Bringing a book with you everywhere allows you to read whenever and wherever, giving you no reason to procrastinate or find other reasons to do anything but read.

3. DROP IT IF YOU’RE NOT FEELING IT


If you start a book and you aren't feeling it, put it down and find another one that suits you. It’s important to find a book that you’re in the mood for. If you try force yourself into reading books because of how well-known or hyped up they are, you’ll end up not reading at all.


4. SCHEDULE READING INTO YOUR DAY


Just like you set aside time for excercising or studying, find a slot in your schedule to read. Perhaps before you go to bed instead of watching that show for 2 hours, minimise that time and compromise. Watch for 1 hour and read for another.

5. AUDIOBOOKS


When it comes to doing my school work that doesn’t require my full concentration or when I'm getting ready, audiobooks are my favourite. You get two things done at once. You can access them using Audible or Google’s Audiobooks at a cheap price. As for me, I use a platform provided by my school. So next time you’re driving listen to an audiobook!


6. PAY YOURSELF


One of my favourite tips is to give yourself a reward after completing a book because, like I mentioned before, you feel a sense of accomplishment (one of the best feelings ever)! It’s important to treat yourself for doing things you least expect to do. Doing this will drive you to do more and more reading. Also doing this as a family is awesome, it keeps everyone reading knowing there’s a prize they will get for doing so.


7. BE INSPIRED


Watching people talk about books, personally, motivates me to reading. I like watching BookTubers from time to time or reading reviews on Goodreads about how much people loved that book. Stay inspired, stay motivated. Be encouraged and encourage others. Remember you’re not competing with others but with yourself.



At the end of the day it comes down to discipline and accountability. You can read numerous blog posts on how to read more and still not read. Be disciplined and act upon your words. It’s all about balance. Similarly to how you eat to feed your body, because it’s how you survive. You read to feed your brain, because it’s how you survive. Keep that mindset because the same concept is applied. Remember: You can do ANYTHING you put your mind to!


Don't forget to request (go to the about page, scroll down and contact me), like, comment and share. Make sure to subscribe to be notified every time I post. I try my best to post at least once week.


Do you have some tips that are effective you want to share? Contact me. I might feature you!


If you want to keep up and stay updated, you can visit my Pinterest account: Books 'n Beyond Blog.


Thank you all so much for tuning in... Talk to you later! 


PS: Thank you all for the support I appreciate it so much!


Nqobile

Xxx


#TikTok: Books 'n Beyond


Tap this to access my previous post!

31 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 comentários


Nqobile
Nqobile
27 de set. de 2020

@ayandajali I’m so glad I managed to inspire even one person. Your support is greatly appreciated!❤️

Curtir

ayandjali
04 de ago. de 2020

You’re a gem, I’m inspired

Curtir
bottom of page